Contact us

Committee Members

The British Dam Society is an Associated Society of the Institution of Civil Engineers.  It consists of individual and corporate members.  Membership is open to anyone wanting to share experience or knowledge of any aspect of dams and reservoirs.

The contact details for any media enquiries to the BDS is (This email is monitored and a response to your enquiry will be made as soon as possible by one of our team).

The Committee comprises five Strategic Objective Working Groups (SOWGs), each with a remit to further one of the objectives of the BDS Strategy.

BDS also has a Young Professionals Group (BDS-YP) specifically catering for the needs and aspirations of the members of BDS under the age of 35.

BDS Executive Committee

BDS Chair

David Littlemore

BDS Vice Chair

Rachel Davies

Immediate Past Chair

Alan Warren

BDS Hon Technical Secretary 

Andrew Thompson


BDS-YP (Young Professionals)

BDS-YP Chair

Kyle McLean

BDS-YP Mentoring Champion (

Michael Calder

BDS-YP Events Champion

Lucy Monkhouse

BDS-YP Social Media Champion

Xavier Bradley


Membership SOWG

To increase and diversify membership of the BDS, Supervising Engineer & All Reservoirs Panels


BDS Hon Technical Secretary & Group Leader

Andrew Thompson

Reservoir Committee Representative

Martin Airey

BDS-YP Chair

Kyle McLean

BDS Hon Website Manager

Rhys Coombs


Knowledge SOWG

To improve the quality and relevancy of our knowledge database


ICOLD and ReSRAG coordinator

Barry Dooley

BDS Hon Editor, Dams & Reservoirs Journal

Andrew Pepper

Knowledge Database Manager

Rachel Pether


Professionalism SOWG

To improve knowledge dissemination and communications to our membership


Evening Meetings

Darren Shaw
Technical Site Visits / Regional Meetings Steven Cavanagh

SE Forum 2021

John Foster
BDS Vice Chair - Finance

Rachel Davies

BDS-YP Events Champion

Lucy Monkhouse


Education SOWG

To enthuse the next generation of dam professionals


Education Lead

Chris Smith

University & Colleges Liaison

Dougie Scott


Matt Coombs

Schools liaison

Natalie Bennett


Michael Calder


Informing Opinion SOWG

To improve links and communications with external organisations, institutions and the public


Group Leader

Roger Lewis

Social Media

Paul Marsden

Social Media

Xavier Bradley

Professional Institution Liaison

Stephen Lockett

ICE BDS secretary:

Secretary - British Dam Society,
The Institution of Civil Engineers,
One Great George Street,
London, Westminster.
t +44 (0)20 7665 2244